- Police Department
- Victims of Crimes
Victims of Crimes- Laura's Law
The purpose of this page is to provide crime victims their rights afforded to them by Arkansas’ Victims Bill of Rights outlined in
Arkansas Victim Rights Act of 1997 and Laura’s Card Act 873
1. You have the right to privacy while in all medical facilities and while seeking medical attention
2. You have a right to petition the court for an Order of Protection
3. You have the right to request the court keep your physical address and personal phone number confidential.
4. You have a right to your own attorney during all court proceedings.
5. You have a right to notice of all court proceedings.
6. You have a right to contact the Prosecutor’s Witness Coordinator.
7. You have a right to be present at all hearings where the defendant is present.
8. You have a right to reasonable protection before, during, and after court proceedings.
9. If available, you have a right to be provided a separate waiting area before, during, and after all court proceedings.
10. In criminal proceedings, you have a right to request restitution be sought through the prosecutor’s office.
11. You have a right to provide a Victim Impact Statement at the sentencing hearing.
12. You have the right to be notified on the status of the alleged or convicted offender.
13. You have a right to be provided with an interpreter during all court proceedings.
14. If the victim is a minor, incapacitated, or deceased, a member of the victim’s family may exercise these rights.
For full details and further explanation of your rights refer to: The Arkansas Crime Information Center’s Victims Guide (PDF) or ACIC Victims Info.
An order of protection is a court order signed by a judge that can require a person to stay away from you and is intended to prevent his/her abusive behavior toward you. An order of protection can also prevent an abuser from contacting you by phone, text, email, mail, fax, or third parties. If the order of protection is violated by the abuser, the police can arrest the abuser and place him/her in jail.
You are eligible for an order of protection if you are in immediate danger of domestic abuse and you and the person you are filing against are:
- At least 18 years of age
- Live together, or have lived together
- Related by blood
- Have a child together
- Dating or have dated in the past
A parent/guardian may also file on behalf of a child under 18 years of age.
For more information, please contact:
Victim Assistance Program at Benton County Prosecutor’s Office: 479-271-1030 or
Northwest Arkansas Women’s Shelter 479-246-9999 or 800-775-9011
VICTIM INFORMATION AND NOTIFICATION EVERYDAY
The Arkansas VINE Program is a free, 24 hour service that can alert you when someone is released from jail or is moved. If you sign up for VINE, you will receive a notification call within 30 minutes of an inmates release or move. You can choose to be notifies by phone, email, or both. VINE is confidential.
To register, contact the Victim Assistance Program at 800-501-4105, or visit Vinelink.
CRIME VICTIMS REPARATIONS BOARD
An innocent victim of a violent crime (including DWI) may qualify for financial help from the Crime Victims Reparations Board. The money can help pay for medical expenses, or other costs related to personal injuries that were caused by a violent crime.
You May Qualify For Assistance If:
● The crime was reported to law enforcement within 72 hours.
● An application for assistance for help is received within one year of the date of the crime.
● The victim is cooperating with the investigation.
● The victim did not contribute to the crime.
For more information contact:
Office of the Attorney General Tower Building
323 Center Street, Little Rock, AR 72201
501-682-1020 or 800-448-3014. or visit: Arkansas Crime Victim Reparations
Police Non-Emergency 479-636-4141
American Red Cross 479-306-4688
Adult Protective Services 800-482-8049
Benton County Jail 479-271-1011
Charter Vista 800-545-4673
Child Abuse Hotline 800-482-5964
Child Support Enforcement 479-770-5443
Arkansas Crisis Intervention 888-274-7472
Domestic Violence Hotline 800-799-7233
Helping Hands 479-273-2511
Legal Aide of Arkansas 800-952-9243
Peace at Home Family Shelter 479-442-9811, ext. 877-442-9811
Prosecuting Attorney’s Office 479-271-1030
Northwest Arkansas Rape Crisis 800-794-4175
Northwest Arkansas Women's Shelter 800-775-9011, ext. 79-246-9999
Rogers City Attorney 479-636-0100
Runaway Hotline 800-786-2929
Salvation Army 479-271-9545
Seven Hills Homeless Center 479-251-7776
Sexual Abuse Recovery and Prevention Agency
Spanish Crisis Line 866-751-5937
United Way 211 2-1-1
Youth Bridge (For Teens) 479-795-0503